Université Gaston Berger

Gaston Berger University of Saint-Louis is the second largest public university in Senegal. Officially created by law n°90-03 of January 2, 1990, it is located 13 kilometers from the city of Saint Louis, in the Senegal River basin, on the Mauritanian border. The University has a major mission of research and interdisciplinary training and has set itself the objective of providing high level and quality education by placing excellence at the heart of its programme. Its training and research unit in legal and political sciences, particularly in its public law section where the NELGA AOF node is housed, is one of the pioneers in Francophone West Africa on training and research on land tenure. Having trained great professors and land tenure specialists in the continent, the UGB, through its recently established research and professional masters, as decentralization and management of local territories, local governance and sustainable development and natural resources and land management, continues to show its interest in land tenure research. This has also earned him the merit of coordinating the NELGA network in Francophon West Africa area. Through the NELGA concept, the UGB has set up a center of excellence on land governance. And its professional master’s degree in land governance which be soon set up will be an important innovation.


The key activities of Francophone West Africa NELGA node and its partner Institutions are:

  • The establishment of Francophone West Africa NELGA node
  • Strengthening, and broadening networks and academic exchanges with other francophone universities in West Africa and other stakeholders
  • Conduct collaborative research activities to improve understanding and share knowledge on critical land governance issues in West Africa and help incorporate land governance into the curriculum
  • Strengthen the capacity of partner institutions and affiliated researchers through short training courses
  • Conduct national and regional policy dialogues on SFM with government organizations, research institutes, civil society and other academia.